– June 23, 2008
Interview with Dave Marsh

When Joel Plaskett decided to start his own label, he didn’t have to look too far to find his first signing. That’s because Dave Marsh sits behind him at the drum kit whenever The Joel Plaskett Emergency take the stage.

Plaskett’s Fontana North-distributed New Scotland Records will launch on July 29 with the release of Marsh’s The True Love Rules. Marsh wrote all 14 songs and co-produced the album with Plaskett last year at Halifax’s Echo Chamber studio. It features contributions from Plaskett, original Emergency bassist Tim Brennan, Cool Blue Halo’s Paul Boudreau, Peter Elkas, David Myles and Marsh’s SuperFriendz bandmates Matt Murphy, Charles Austin and Drew Yamada, among others. Eight songs can be previewed on Marsh’s website.

“I enjoy producing and want to build on the experience I’ve gained making my own records by working with people whose music I admire,” says Plaskett, who produced Two Hours Traffic’s acclaimed Little Jabs. “I am excited that NSR will have the opportunity to help promote the work of some of the very talented artists in my musical community.”

Marsh’s band are also called The True Love Rules. They’ll join Old Man Luedecke to open for The Joel Plaskett Emergency on Aug. 1 at Alderney Landing in Dartmouth, N.S. Here’s where else you can catch the Emergency this year:
July 1 Ottawa, ON @ Parliament Hill
July 12 Toronto, ON @ Molson Amphitheatre w/Great Big Sea
July 18 Halifax, NS @ Smooth Herman’s
Aug. 3 Marystown, NL @ Marystown Recreation Complex
Aug. 15 St. John’s, NL @ Arts & Culture Centre w/Damhnait Doyle
Oct. 18 Sault Ste. Marie, ON @ Great Northern Conference Centre

Here are the songs on The True Love Rules:
“Backstreets Thread”
“The Way We Live Today”
“True Love Rules”
“I Know Nothing Anymore”
“Got No Kids of Our Own”
“Darling You, Nothing Else Matters”
“Most People Believe”
“Nav Com Tav”
“Move You Around”
“Forsaken By The Beautiful People”
“Picking Up The Pieces”
“I’ll Let Them Know You Were Here”
“The Smoke Easy”